How to Access Library Resources

Common Questions

Below are answers to questions you may have about the library's switch to OpenAthens and the new library catalog.

Why did we switch to OpenAthens?

Linscheid Library decided to switch from our old authentication method (proxy) to a single sign-on method with OpenAthens. We think this will give ECU students, faculty, and staff a more seamless login experience when using library resources, with fewer interruptions more points of access on various platforms and websites. This authentication method is also more secure for library patrons, utilizing SAML 2.0 security protocols to protect user data.

Do I need to log in when I am on a campus computer?

No. OpenAthens will recognize the IP ranges of campus computers.

My bookmarks to databases, books, and articles no longer work. What do I need to do?

It's best to create a new bookmark! Start at the library homepage and search in EBSCO Discovery Service for the new permalinks to the resources you want to save. For bookmarking databases, it's best to use the friendly URLs available on the A-Z Databases list. For more details on friendly URLs and changing old links, see the Updating Links page.

I've bookmarked sources using the proxy URL (0-...library.ecok.edu), do I need to update these links?

Yes! Please use the Deproxifier and Athenizer on the Updating Links page to update these URLs.

Can I still access library resources through Google Scholar?

Yes! While using Google Scholar, go to Settings > Library Links > type in "East Central University" and click "Save". This will enable Google Scholar to show you if East Central University has access to the materials you are viewing.

I switched browsers and now I have to log in again. Is this supposed to happen?

Yes. OpenAthens uses cookies to remember your IP address. If you switch browsers or devices, you will be asked to log in again. OpenAthens cookies stay active for 8 hours, so you are using the same browser during a single research session, you should not need to log in a second time. After the cookies expire, however, you will be prompted to login again.

Why did we switch to a new library catalog?

The library decided to start using the cloud-based platform called FOLIO to save money and to become a part of a larger community of libraries that contribute to the development of open-source software. The change to FOLIO also means that the library's catalog has become integrated with our primary search engine, EBSCO Discovery Service. This will enable students, faculty, and staff to access all of the patron empowerment features available with their library account on one platform. See the Patron Empowerment page for more details.

Why does this matter?

Part of Linscheid Library's mission is to make sure that all of our patrons--students, faculty, staff, and the Ada community, have an easier time finding and using library materials they want and need. This includes everything the library has access to, including articles, databases, streaming videos, books, sheet music, and any other physical and electronic items we have available. The switch to OpenAthens and FOLIO will help us accomplish this goal.

I work at the Chickasaw Nation, the State of Oklahoma, or a Public School. Why can't I use the library databases?

The library authenticates users through IP addresses and through email addresses. OpenAthens and EBSCO will check IP addresses in an authentication string, and if it corresponds with an IP address that is familiar, it will take the user to the group of databases associated with that company instead of the databases you're trying to access. You'll need to use a personal device that is not connected to the wi-fi at your place of work in order to access the Linscheid Library databases. If you have any questions, concerns or comments or just need help accessing our databases--please reach out to veldridg@ecok.edu

Who do I ask if I have more questions?

For immediate assistance during the library's regular operating hours, contact the Reference Desk at 580-559-5371 or refdesk@ecok.edu. For one-on-one assistance, you can contact your liaison librarian.