Please let us know if you have difficulties accessing any part of this website! Contact your librarian or for eResource trouble let us know at https://ecok.libwizard.com/f/eResourceReport

Faculty & Staff: Copyright

ECU faculty and staff, this guide outlines all of the resources and services available to you!

Copyright Resources

This page contains numerous resources on copyright, particularly in relation to using materials in online courses. For more detailed and subject-specific questions about copyright, check with your liaison librarian.

Copyright Crash Course
A course arranged into several sections that allow users to explore certain areas of copyright law individually or as a group, from University of Texas Libraries.
107th Congress 1st Session Bill
Educational uses from the copyright infringement provision. (opens a new tab)
Subject Matter and Scope of Copyright, from the U.S. Copyright Office

Quick Reference

Copyright Tools

Digital Copyright Slider
Determine the copyright status of a work that was first published in the U.S.
Section 108 Spinner
Use this tool to determine whether or not a particular reproduction is covered by Section 108 of the U.S. Copyright Code, which allows libraries & archives to make reproductions of copyrighted materials without the permission of the copyright holder.
Exceptions for Instructors eTool
Learn about the educational exceptions in U.S. copyright law, including the rights and responsibilities for the performance and display of copyrighted content in traditional, distance, and blended educational models.
Fair Use Evaluator
A tool to help you better understand how to determine the "fairness" of a use under the U.S. Copyright Code.
Fair Use Checklist, from Baylor University

Cheat Sheet for Instructors

Free Media for Course Design

Unsplash
Over 2 million free high-resolution images brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers (Opens a new tab).
The Noun Project
Over 2 Million curated CC and public domain icons, created by a global community (Opens a new tab).
Old Book Illustrations
Period illustrations in the public domain, browsable by subject, artist, title, technique, and more (Opens a new tab).

Find more content on the following LibGuide:

Multimedia Source Material
by Brandi Schur Last Updated Aug 28, 2024 254 views this year

Materials to Use in Online Courses

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

eBooks & More

Salem Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a growing number of reference sources in literature, history, science, health, and careers.
Gale eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The main portal for Gale eBooks covering a variety of topics, such as business, education, history, library science, literature, religion, technology, and more. The GVRL platform is keyword and subject searchable.

Project Gutenberg
You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Find OERs
Links to various collections of Open Educational Resources.

Creative Commons Statement

Creative Commons logo

Original content by Linscheid Library is Creative Commons licensed as 4.0 (CC-BY-NC). Links and all other content retains its original license.

Attribution – Noncommercial 4.0 (CC-BY-NC). Anyone is free to share and adapt works for non-commercial purposes under this license as long as they give credit for the original creation. Attribution should be given to “Linscheid Library.” These materials are made accessible under this license to assist and further the educational efforts of others.