Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mason OER Metafinder
Searches multiple OER sites and other sites with open access or public domain content. Opens a new tab.
General Open Educational Resources Collections
An open educational resources database curated by MERLOT, a non-profit organization created in a collaboration between 15 higher education institutions or governing bodies, including the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education (Opens a new tab).
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 98 different sources and contains 368,237 records. (Opens a new tab).
OER Commons is a database of open educational resources, which allows educators to collaborate on curriculum (Opens a new tab).
The Open University
Find entire courses on a variety of subjects and levels. (Opens a new tab).
Videos and Simulators
Khan Academy, a nonprofit organization, creates and maintains a collection of instructional videos on a wide range of subject matter. Khan is partnered with NASA, the Museum of Modern Art, the California Academy of Sciences, and MIT (Opens a new tab).
Created and maintained by the University of Colorado, PhET is a collection of "free interactive math and science simulations" (Opens a new tab).
BioDigital is the "World's First Human Visualization Platform," allowing users to "explore the human body in interactive 3D" (Opens a new tab).
Use the Filter option in YouTube to limit your search to videos with a Creative Commons license. (Opens a new tab).
Knowledge Unlatched is an online database of open access scholarly resources, including books and journals (Opens a new tab).
OpenEd is an open access textbook creation project created by the British Columbia's department of advanced education (Opens a new tab).
A publishing house, located at Rice University, focused on free academic textbooks. Several textbooks available for general education courses. (Opens a new tab).
Open Textbook Library
Supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network, Open Textbook Library is a collection of open access textbooks (Opens a new tab).
Orange Grove Texts Plus
Orange Grove Texts Plus is an open access textbook initiative of the University of Florida Press and the LibraryPress@UF (Opens a new tab).
An index of 1,500+ books published on Pressbooks. Most books have an open license. Opens a new tab.
Humanities & Social Sciences
The American Yawp
The American Yawp is a "free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses" (Opens a new tab).
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN)
OAPEN is a library of open access academic textbooks, particularly focused on the areas of humanities and the social sciences (Opens a new tab).
Math & Science
American Institute of Mathematics
The American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) maintains a list of open access textbooks deemed appropriate for use in a traditional course (Opens a new tab).
INTECH is a publisher of open access textbooks in the subject matters pertaining to science, technology, and medicine (Opens a new tab).
Green Tea Press
A non-profit publishing company operated by Allen Downey, a professor of computer science at Olin College, who writes free textbooks related to the computer and data sciences (Opens a new tab).
Creative Commons' collection of open educational resources and current projects (Opens a new tab).