Nursing

Search Tools

Publication Finder
- This link opens in a new window
Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper title? Search here to find out if ECU provides full-text coverage.
EBSCOhost Web Search
- This link opens in a new window
Use this tool to search individual or multiple EBSCO databases.

A-Z Databases
A complete list of databases to aid in your research. Limit by subject, type, or platform.

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health

Results open in a new tab.

CINAHL is a great place to start looking for articles in nursing. CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database. Searchable cited references are available for journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Although the coverage for every journal varies, you can find articles that date from 1937 to the present with full-text available for more than a third of the database.

Nursing Reference Center Plus

Results open in a new tab.

Nursing Reference Center Plus is a clinical point-of-care resource. It includes full text and video content on diseases, disorders, diagnostics, drugs, patient education resources, and best practice guidelines. Also includes continuing education modules, legal cases, and medical news and drug updates.

Other Nursing Databases

Linscheid Library's databases enable you to find articles, electronic books, reports, images, and more.

Need help? Click the next to the name of the database to access a how-to guide.

Thank you! Your Library Maintenance Fee payment helps pay for our databases, as well as free printing in the library.

Below you'll find a list of recommended databases for Nursing.

MEDLINE with Full-Text (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for medical journals, providing full-text for a third of the database back to 1965. Indexing is available back to 1949.
Health Source: Nursing Edition (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health, and other medical disciplines. Over half of the materials are available in full-text.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text, comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Abstracts in Social Gerontology (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline. Coverage goes back to 1990. Full-text access is limited.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
PubMed Central
- This link opens in a new window
A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Full-text is available for the majority of titles indexed, with material dating back to mid- to late-1800s or early 1900s for some journals.

Nursing Print Periodicals

Stop by the library to flip through these journals in the Current Periodicals section.

Nursing Online Journals

Try searching one of the journals listed below. Each has content you can access online.