Please contact your librarian if you have difficulty accessing any part of this website. To report eResource issues, fill out the following form: https://ecok.libwizard.com/f/eResourceReport

Library Employees: Liaison Materials

Find links to policies, assessment, committees, training, forms,and more.

Liaison Tools

Liaisons as Sales Force

Reusable Materials

Allocation Memo (July 2015)
Use this memo to report departmental budgets to your liaison areas in August (opens a new tab).
Liaison Report Instruction Appendix Template (May 2019)
Liaison Report Instruction Statistics Template (July 2020)
Periodical Request Form
Periodical Cancelation/Withdrawal Form

Handouts for Faculty

Library Materials for Online Classes (July 2020)
OER Flyer (July 2020)
Flipster Mobile Bookmarks (July 2020)
Insert your contact information at the bottom. Opens a new tab.
List of Print Periodicals
Periodicals available for routing
Creating Stable Links in JSTOR
EBSCO Journal Alerts

College/School Bookmarks and departmental liaison flyers for 2020/2021 were created in Piktochart and customized to each librarian. They were posted in Teams on 7/27/20.

Budget Explanation

Several factors are taken into account in determining departmental allocations from the overall library budget:

Student credit hours (SCH),
FTE faculty,
Library collection use,
and average costs of books/videos/periodicals.

Student credit hours are broken down into 3 categories:

Lower-level undergraduate (weight factor of 0.75),
Upper-level undergraduate (weight factor of 1.00),
and graduate hours (weight factor of 1.25).

SCH are supplied by the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs, and FTE figures are supplied by the Office of Institutional Effectiveness.

Library collection use involves:

Checkouts and renewals of all materials
In-house use of all materials
Interlibrary loan
Document delivery
Electronic resources
Instruction in all forms
Research posters and other media
Study Rooms
Faculty & student consultations
Reference inquiries
Recording Studio
Multiple other uses

Average costs of books, audiovisuals, and periodicals are determined through professional industry sources.

All of the factors listed above are used to compute average needs and material costs which are then used to determine the final departmental allocations. All factors need to be taken into account to truly reflect the size and needs of a department. If any one factor changes, the formula will obviously yield a different result.

****
To ensure ordered materials are received in the appropriate fiscal year, follow the collection development calendar.

Collection Development Information

Collection Development Policy

Collection Development Calendar
July	Departmental allocations released.
December	50% of monograph budget to be ordered.
February	Periodical, Standing Order, and Database analyses conducted.
March 31st	100% of monograph budget to be ordered.

How to Order Materials

All orders need to be submitted through your liaison librarian. However, the process is very informal, and you can send orders via:

Email - feel free to submit via Amazon or other websites
Campus mail - feel free to send us a catalog with pages marked
Phone

Liaison Communication Calendar

Month	Communication
July	Combine yearly (July-June) committee minutes into one PDF file and add to Committees webpage.
August	First day of August: Official Liaison Switch Former liaisons will: Email switched departments, informing them of change and introducing them to new liaison Switch ownership of subject & course guides to new liaison Instructional Services Librarian updates Subject Expert list in LibGuides First week of August: Update materials Outreach updates generic liaison flyer(c/s meetings), makes 200 color copies, and distributes evenly to liaison librarians Outreach updates individualized bookmarks (dept meetings) template and shares with liaison librarians Collection Services updates print periodical routing flyer and shares with liaison librarians Contact deans to get on College/School meeting agenda ?? will contact SSB ?? will contact CEP ?? will contact CLASS ?? will contact CHS Contact liaison department chairs: to get on agenda for department meeting about budget—use budget memo template (found on the Liaison webpage) Second week of August: Attend new faculty orientation Bring business cards Follow-up with email to new faculty by the end of the day – use template in llstaff calendar Attend face-to-face College/School meetings after Convocation – bring generic liaison flyer ?? will attend SSB ?? will attend CEP ?? will attend CLASS ?? will attend CHS Before August 31: Attend department meetings—bring individualized liaison bookmark and routing flyer Meet with department chairs about budget and collaboration efforts
September	Send email to each department – use template in llstaff calendar Library Blog Budget Periodicals Update Communicate with individual faculty who have requested instruction.
October	Send email to each department – use template in llstaff calendar Instruction Budget Liaisons touch base with individual faculty who may be interested in digital humanities projects
November	Send email to each department – use template in llstaff calendar Budget Ordering materials for Spring semester Send Teaching Support outcomes survey to all faculty
December	Send LibGuides stats to individual faculty members, and cc the department chair, if desired. (end of semester) Suggested wording: “Thank you for working with me to do instruction for your class.” Include relevant comments about stats and student follow-up Make all course guides private
January	Contact department chairs to get on agenda for spring department meeting. Send email to each department – use template in llstaff calendar Library blog Budget Periodicals update
February	Send email to liaison department chairs – use template in llstaff calendar Periodical, Database, and Standing Order Analyses (April 30 deadline) Budget (March 31 deadline) Communicate with individual faculty who have requested instruction. Liaisons follow up with individual faculty who may be interested in digital humanities projects
March	Send email to liaison department chairs – use template in llstaff calendar Instruction Budget Send final decisions on Lost, Missing, etc. list by March 31 Withdrawals go to Technical Services Replacements go to Acquisitions
April	Send final changes for analyses by April 30 Periodical and Database changes go to Collection Services Standing Order changes go to Acquisitions Send Teaching Support outcomes survey to all faculty
May	Send LibGuides stats to individual faculty members, and cc the department chair, if desired. (end of semester) Suggested wording: “Thank you for working with me to do instruction for your class.” Include relevant comments about stats and student follow-up Make all course guides private Communicate with summer faculty about instruction
June	Look over subject LibGuides as outlined in the Maintenance section of the LibGuides Standards. Check LibGuides for Accessibility