Chemistry

Find out about your faculty and your major requirements.

This is the website for the American Chemical Society, the largest professional organization for chemists in the United States. This website can help you keep up-to-date on the latest in the profession and find funding, volunteer, job, and graduate school opportunities.

This interactive periodic table was developed by David D. Hsu. of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. It provides information about the elements' properties, discovery, uses, appearance, characteristics, and more.

"From the food we eat and the pharmaceuticals doctors prescribe to the paints and fuel additives we use, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) develops the technology, measurement methods, and standards to address the needs of the chemical industry." Their Reference Data and Reference Materials sections are particularly useful.

Search for SDS and labels by substance, manufacturer, and/or CAS number. Most are in PDF file format. Free without registration

PubChem, from the National Center for Biotechnology Information, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. Using the three databases available from PubChem, you can search bioassay records, unique chemical structures, and chemical substance records.

This website, produced by the University of Nottingham, offers short videos about the elements and other chemistry topics.

This website offers multimedia features such as pedagogical animations, an introduction to chemistry, modules on important topics in chemistry, demonstrations of laboratory techniques, NMR spectral data and problems, and so on.

This web resource contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest.

Use the CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications. Search by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN.

From the internet librarians at the ipl2, this site provides a collection of interesting and reputable links to websites about chemistry. Note: This site may not display properly in Internet Explorer. Try a different browser (such as Firefox) or the Internet Explorer Compatibility View (click the torn sheet of paper in the URL bar).

This government website brings together "50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results".

"The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today." Search their database of over 3 million publications on this site!

ScienceDaily offers breaking news stories about the latest scientific discoveries, submitted by leading universities and other research organizations (opens a new tab).

These well-organized digital collections from the University of Oklahoma contain electronic books, images, videos relating to the history of science (opens a new tab).

Elsevier offers a Certified Peer Reviewer Course for those interested in becoming peer reviewers or for those that are just interested in the process.

A large scientific library that offers videos, lab simulations, documents, case studies and narratives.