Introduction to Professional Nursing (NRSG 1142)
Collection Services Librarian
Linscheid Library,
Room 206
acrutchfield@ecok.edu
Boolean Operators
- Boolean Operator Cheat SheetA Boolean Operator cheat sheet with examples and a practice section.
Thank you to the University of Guelph McLaughlin Library for allowing reuse of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.
EBSCO Discovery Service for Nursing
Results will open in a new tab.
Search multiple nursing databases, including CINAHL, Nursing Reference Center, Health Source, MEDLINE, Abstracts in Social Gerontology, and more.
Searching Databases
Databases enable you to find articles, electronic books, reports, images, and more.
Need help? Click the 
next to the name of the database to access a how-to guide.
Thank you! Your Library Maintenance Fee payment helps pay for our databases.
REMINDERS:
- Limit your searches to the last five (5) years
- Limit your searches to Peer-Reviewed Journals
- Limit your searches to full-text (optional)
- Other limiters:
- Age
- Gender
- Geography
- Language
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes the Database of Systematic Reviews, Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Clinical Answers. Some full-text has a 12 month embargo (Opens a new tab).
- Health Source: Nursing Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health, and other medical disciplines. Over half of the materials are available in full-text (Opens a new tab).
- MEDLINE with Full-Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for medical journals, providing full-text for a third of the database back to 1965. Indexing is available back to 1949 (Opens a new tab).
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowA free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Full-text is available for the majority of titles indexed, with material dating back to mid- to late-1800s or early 1900s for some journals (Opens a new tab).
This tutorial demonstrates how you can improve your EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) search results using limiters, expanders, and facets found on the result list screen.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan
If you want to access materials that Linscheid Library does not have, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This can include articles not available in full text, books not on the shelves, dissertations from other institutions, and more. Materials will either be sent to your ECU email as PDFs, or delivered to Linscheid Library's circulation desk.
Use one of the forms below, or visit the ILL page, to get started:
 |
 |
580-559-5376
1100 E. 14th St
Ada, OK 74820
Powered by Springshare. All rights reserved.