Native American Studies

Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper title? Search here to find out if ECU provides full-text coverage (Opens a new tab).

Use this tool to search individual or multiple EBSCO databases (Opens a new tab).

In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format (Opens a new tab).

Covers the history of the original inhabitants of the United States and Canada beginning in the 1600s and continuing through the present. Materials in this resource include full-text access to magazines, journals and government documents (Opens a new tab).

Provides in-depth themed reports on controversial social, political, and cultural topics. Each report thoroughly analyzes all of the important aspects of the given topic, and also provides relevant graphics and sources for further research. Full-text reports are available from 1991 to the present (Opens a new tab).

Provides high-quality full-text journal articles relating to nearly every field of scholarly study. This database specializes in historical content, with some articles dating back to the late 1800s. In most cases, the most recent one to five years are not available in full-text (Opens a new tab).

The records of the ACLU on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics. Documents include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records (Opens a new tab).

Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers through photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents ranging from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals. If you receive a security or certificate alert, ignore and proceed to the website (Opens a new tab).

Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Topics range from the Middle Ages forward--our collection include content from the Civil War to twentieth-century political history (Opens a new tab).

Provides primary sources for users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada (Opens a new tab).

The official history of every American territory before it became an American state, sourced from the National Archives of the United States (Opens a new tab).

Full-text of the Ada, Oklahoma papers from 1905-1977. Some free access available, but registration may be required. Click here to see the library's microfilm holdings (Opens a new tab).

Provides full-text access to newspapers from the early 19th century to the late 1920s. Users can search by date, presidential era or state of publication. Includes access to African American Newspapers (1827-1998) and American Civil War Newspapers (1840-1877) (Opens a new tab).

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience, and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities (Opens a new tab).

Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC) with the long-term goal to develop an internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages (Opens a new tab).

An online repository of Oklahoma history provided by the Oklahoma Historical Society and hosted by the University of North Texas Libraries' Digital Projects Unit. Browse through hundreds of thousands of newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s (Opens a new tab).