Please contact your librarian if you have difficulty accessing any part of this website. To report eResource issues, fill out the following form: https://ecok.libwizard.com/f/eResourceReport

Music

This guide will help you find resources for your music research and assignments.

EBSCO Discovery Service

Results will open in a new tab.

Search multiple fine arts databases, including Art & Architecture Complete, Music Index, MLA International Bibliography, and more.

Print Music Journals

Stop by the library to flip through these journals in the Current Periodicals section, located on the 2nd floor.

Online Music Journals

Try one of the journals listed below. Each has content you can access online.

Music Databases

Need help? Click the next to the name of a database to access a tutorial or how-to guide.

Naxos Music Library
The world´s largest online classical music library. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 378 classical, jazz, and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Classic pop and rock music, as well as Chinese orchestral music, are also represented (Opens a new tab).

Click here for instructions on how to use the Naxos Music Library mobile app!
Music Index (EBSCO)
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage (Opens a new tab).
Encyclopædia Britannica Academic Edition
Encyclopædia Britannica provides access to over 75,000 articles; headlines from the New York Times, the BBC, the SBS Australian News Service; full-text articles from magazines and periodicals provided by EBSCO and Proquest; World data; Gateway to the classics; Web sites selected by Britannica editors; images, maps, animations, videos, and audio files. Also included are Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary and thesaurus (Opens a new tab).
Those that are using personal devices (on- or off-campus) should reach out to the Reference desk (refdesk@ecok.edu), for credentials to access this resource.
JSTOR
Provides high-quality full-text journal articles relating to nearly every field of scholarly study. This database specializes in historical content, with some articles dating back to the late 1800s. In most cases, the most recent one to five years are not available in full-text (Opens a new tab).
Academic Video Online (AVON)
More than 62,000 video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) makes this a useful resource for all library users (Opens a new tab).
Education Source (EBSCO)
Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Indexing goes back to the mid-1800s, and many of the articles are available in full-text (Opens a new tab).