Please contact your librarian if you have difficulty accessing any part of this website. To report eResource issues, fill out the following form: https://ecok.libwizard.com/f/eResourceReport

History

Search Tools

Publication Finder
Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper title? Search here to find out if ECU provides full-text coverage (Opens a new tab).
EBSCOhost Web Search
Use this tool to search individual or multiple EBSCO databases (Opens a new tab).

A-Z Databases
A complete list of databases to aid in your research. Limit by subject, type, or platform (Opens a new tab).

General Databases

Databases enable you to find articles, electronic books, reports, images, and more.

Need help? Click the next to the name of the database to access a how-to guide.

Thank you! Your Library Maintenance Fee payment helps pay for our databases, as well as free printing in the library.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format (Opens a new tab).
CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth themed reports on controversial social, political, and cultural topics. Each report thoroughly analyzes all of the important aspects of the given topic, and also provides relevant graphics and sources for further research. Full-text reports are available from 1991 to the present (Opens a new tab).
JSTOR
Provides high-quality full-text journal articles relating to nearly every field of scholarly study. This database specializes in historical content, with some articles dating back to the late 1800s. In most cases, the most recent one to five years are not available in full-text (Opens a new tab).
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)
Offers current events coverage relevant to the government and all branches of the military. This includes full-text coverage from 1934 to the present.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO)
Using a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse, PSC covers areas of law and legislation, political theory, international relations, and humanitarian issues. Indexing dates back to 1911, with full-text coverage back to 1922.

Newspapers

Ada Evening News
Full-text of the Ada, Oklahoma papers from 1905-1977. Some free access available, but registration may be required. Click here to see the library's microfilm holdings.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (Readex)
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
America's Historical Newspapers (Readex)
Provides full-text access to newspapers from the early 19th century to the late 1920s. Users can search by date, presidential era or state of publication. Includes access to African American Newspapers (1827-1998) and American Civil War Newspapers (1840-1877).
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience, and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC) with the long-term goal to develop an internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals (Archives Unbound)
These generals’ reports of service represent an attempt by the Adjutant General’s Office (AGO) to obtain more complete records of the service of the various Union generals serving in the Civil War.
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama (Archives Unbound)
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865.
Gateway to Oklahoma History
An online repository of Oklahoma history provided by the Oklahoma Historical Society and hosted by the University of North Texas Libraries' Digital Projects Unit. Browse through hundreds of thousands of newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s.
Historical African American Newspapers (Marist Library)
This guide provides a list online newspapers through digitization projects at libraries and historical societies, and Google. The content is available for free, though it is at the discretion of the institution providing the content. The newspapers contained within the guide are those that have ceased to operate or are currently-running papers with archives available. It does not include papers that are currently running and only offer access to the most recent articles.
International Herald Tribune (Gale)
This archive includes The New York Herald, European Edition followed by the New York Herald Tribune and finally the International Herald Tribune, retracing the history of the 20th century from luxury travel and opulent entertainment, to international conflicts, the spread of American culture abroad, and globalization. This American newspaper published in Paris had an independent editorial spirit throughout and offers a strong focus on objective reporting of international news.
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers (Gale)
A full-text searchable, facsimile-image database that provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.
Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918-1919
Includes the complete seventy-one-week run (February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919) of the newspaper's World War I edition.

Primary Sources

American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1995 (Gale)
The records of the ACLU on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics. Documents include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records.
Archives Unbound (Gale)
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Topics range from the Middle Ages forward--our collection include content from the Civil War to twentieth-century political history.
Territorial Papers of the United States (Readex)
The official history of every American territory before it became an American state, sourced from the National Archives of the United States.

Periodicals

Feel like browsing? Click on the journal titles below. We have electronic access to some of them, and others are located on the 2nd floor of the library.

Want to see a list of all the history periodicals to which we have access? Do a subject search in Publication Finder for history .