Freshman Composition II (ENG 1213)- Canfield

East Central University Collection

The collection includes a complete run of the East Central Journal and Pesagi. Publications by and about the University, faculty, and distinguished alumni are included in the collection. Notable items in the collection include the typescript of a book by tramp poet Welborn Hope, scrapbooks, photographs and oral history materials about the University. Tiger fans may wish to wander up to Special Collections to see some of our sports memorabilia, including old uniforms.

Please note that the Special Collections at Linscheid Library is not the official university archive and does not have access to lists of alumni. All queries about alumni should be directed to the Office of Alumni Relations.

 President Linscheid Collection

Papers of President Adolf Linscheid from when he led East Central. Includes letters and insight into the work that went into growing East Central in its early years.

East Central Oklahoma Collection

Included here are local history materials, books by local authors, and materials relating to oil field history and culture, the Five Civilized Tribes, and Oklahoma politics.

Admire Collection

The papers, maps, and letters of 89er James L. Admire (1869-1956), who operated a successful farm management service in Hugo, Oklahoma, provide insight into agriculture in Southeastern Oklahoma since the 1920s.

Crawford Collection

Former Pontotoc county district judge Johnson Tal Crawford was a member of the first US Military Tribunal to conduct the Nazi Doctor War Crimes Trials at Nuremberg. In addition to photos, transcripts, letters, and other background documentation, his papers include his multi-volume set of the trial proceedings. This set is a gift of Elwood and Gloria Kemp.

Hauan Collection

A gift from distinguished alumnus Martin Hauan, this collection includes political advertising on tape, videotape, and film, as well as printed speeches, memorabilia, and books associated with the campaigns of various Oklahoma politicians.

World War Photos

East Central Professor Edson A. MacMillan collected photos and autographs of military and civilian leaders of the World War I era. This rather remarkable collection is now housed in special collections. The special collections also includes about 20 prints of official public relations photos from the World War II era.

Rare Books Collection

The centerpiece of this collection is a facsimile of the famous Gutenberg Bible, the first book printed with movable type and therefore the keystone event in the history of the book. Our facsimile, made to be an exact replica of the Cardinal Mazarin Bible, or 42 line Bible, is a gift of Norma English Walker, in memory of her parents, Alma and A.D. English.

Other books in this collection include some rare Americana, such as Schoolcrafts--an early record of life among the Indian tribes--and Twentieth Century first editions, with an emphasis on books about the American Southwest. Examples of fine printing and binding, and autographed books are also in the Rare Books Collection.

Originals

The Originals is a publication by the East Central University English Department.  It contains short works, poetry, and illustrations from East Central students.  For new volumes, there is a one year embargo before being made available online.  The most recent five years may be found here.  

Older editions may be found here.  Work is currently being done to digitize previous volumes.

Pesagi

The Pesagi is East Central University's yearbook, and it is available online. While the Pesagi has been digitized for most years, be aware that no Pesagi was printed in 1918, from 1929-1945, or from 1952-1955. Please be patient when viewing these files online; they are all very large and can take several moments to load.

You can access the digital repository here.

ECU Journal

The ECU Journal is East Central's weekly student produced newspaper. The Journal has been published since 1916, but not all years have been digitized yet. To see which years are currently available online, use the link above. Please be patient when viewing the Journal online; the files are all very large and can take several moments to load.

You can access the digital repository here.