Water Resource Policy and Management
Public Services Librarian
Assistant Director
Linscheid Library, Room 323
Oklahoma Legal Resources
Oklahoma Legal Resources
- Oklahoma Bar AssociationThe professional organization for Oklahoma lawyers and other legal professionals.
- Oklahoma State Courts NetworkProvides access to dockets of the Oklahoma Courts, a quick case searcher, and an electronic Oklahoma law library. An overview of the Oklahoma court system is presented with a judicial pictorial directory by county.
- Oklahoma State LegislatureThe official website of the Oklahoma State Legislature. You can search or browse statutes, pending measures and the state constitution. You can also track laws as they wind through the legislative process.
Federal Legal Resources
Federal Legal Resources
- American Bar AssociationThe most prominent professional organization for lawyers in the United States.
- USA.gov Legal Reference CenterFederal legal reference information produced by the US government.
- GovTrack"GovTrack.us....publish[es] the status of federal legislation and information about your representative and senators in Congress....We also go beyond the official record with statistical analyses, bill summaries, and other tools to put information in context."
Country Information
Country Information
- The CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information and statistics "on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
- Country ProfilesFrom the U.S. Department of State, Country Profiles include information about the relationship between the U.S. and other countries. Links to further information are provided.
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
Reports and other information resources coordinated under the auspices of the United Nations and produced through the collaboration of thousands of international scientists to provide a clear and up to date view of the current state of scientific knowledge relevant to climate change.
- United Nations Climate Action
Scientific reports, programs, action movements and events related to climate change.
- National Center for Atmospheric Research (National Science Foundation)
Find useful reports, program information and other documents resulting from federally funded research and development into the behavior of the atmosphere and related physical, biological and social systems.
- National Centers for Environmental Information (NOAA)
Search and find climate data from prehistory through to an hour ago in the world's largest climate data archive. (Formerly the "Climatic Data Center")
- Skeptical Science
Find objective analysis and evaluation of claims, arguments, evidence and literature relating to climate change.
- Center for Climate & Energy Solutions (C2ES)
Think tank providing information, analysis, policy and solution development for addressing climate change and energy issues (formerly known as the: "Pew Center on Global Climate Change").
- Global Change (U.S. Global Change Research Program)
Find reports, maps, data and other resources produced through a confederation of the research arms of 13 Federal departments and agencies that carry out research and develop and maintain capabilities that support the Nation’s response to global change.
Political Science Websites
Websites
- ECU Politics, Law and SocietySee what's happening in your department.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience, and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
- American Sociological AssociationThe mission of the American Sociological Association is to "advance sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good." On this website you can find research on the discipline of sociology, resources for teachers and students of sociology, job postings, and more.
- C-SPANKeep track of your favorite congress people and other legislative business online as well as on TV.
- Constitute: The World's Constitutions to Read, Search, and CompareCompare the wording and provisions of the constitutions of the world's countries with this free resource. Find the most recent edition of a country's national constitution, and filter results by documents issued in a particular year. You can also browse using over 300 topics, such as language, treaties, or economic & social rights.
- Electoral CollegeThe Electoral College is a process, not a place. The founding fathers established it in the Constitution as a compromise between election of the President by a vote in Congress and election of the President by a popular vote of qualified citizens.
- Government Printing Office"The U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) is the Federal Government’s official, digital, secure resource for producing, procuring, cataloging, indexing, authenticating, disseminating, and preserving the official information products of the U.S. Government. The GPO is responsible for the production and distribution of information products and services for all three branches of the Federal Government, including U.S. passports for the Department of State as well as the official publications of Congress, the White House, and other Federal agencies in digital and print formats."
- Harvard Political ReviewThe Harvard Political Review is America’s preeminent undergraduate journal of politics and public policy. The HPR is written and published entirely by Harvard undergraduates, with help from the Institute of Politics.
- International Sociological AssociationVisit this website to find out about upcoming events or find a job, fellowship, or scholarship.
- Oklahoma Political Science AssociationOPSA is the professional organization of Oklahoma political scientists. Drawing from political scientists across the state, OPSA brings together political scientists from all fields of inquiry and occupational endeavors within and outside academe in order to expand understanding of politics. Membership is open to anyone with an interest in the state's politics. OPSA serves the teaching and research interests of its members.
- Oklahoma Supreme Courts NetworkThe official webpage of the Oklahoma State Supreme Court.
- Pi Sigma Alpha Undergraduate ReviewA journal of undergraduate research in political science and government, hosted by William & Mary University.
- Rural Sociological AssociationThe Rural Sociological Association seeks to "enhance the quality of rural life, communities, and the environment" through sociology. Visit this website to find out about upcoming events or find a job, fellowship, or scholarship!
- United States CourtsFind rules & policies, including rules of civil procedure, information about US judges, court records and court forms here.
Native American Tribal Law Resources
Native American Tribal Law Resources
- Native American Constitution and Law Digitization ProjectThis Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents.
Tribal constitutions and codes are the heart of self-government for over 500 federally recognized tribes, and are the lifeblood of Indian sovereignty. - Oklahoma Tribal Government WebsitesCreated by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries, this site highlights the history and culture features of Oklahoma's Tribal governments.
- Tribal Law ResourcesDedicated to providing free publication resources, comprehensive training, and technical assistance for Native nations and tribal justice systems in pursuit of our vision to empower Native communities to create and control their own institutions for the benefit of all community members, now, and for future generations.
Anthropology
Anthropology Websites
- American Anthropological AssociationVisit the official website of the American Anthropological Association to learn about upcoming events, find jobs and internships, and more.
- EVIA (Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis) Digital Archive"The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a joint effort of Indiana University and the University of Michigan to establish a digital archive of ethnographic video for use by scholars and instructors. Media in the EVIA Project consists of video collections that have been selected for inclusion by an editorial committee, and annotations that have gone through a scholarly review process."
- Race: Are We So Different?Visit this award-winning interactive website developed by the American Anthropological Association to learn "race in the United States through the eyes of history, science and lived experience."
- The American Folklife CenterThe website of The American Folklife Center, a project of the Library of Congress, offers rich digital collections of images, songs, videos, and more.
Statistics & Data Sources
Statistics & Data Sets
- Data Distribution Centre (DDC) of the IPCC
Data Distribution Centre of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change provides climate, socio-economic and environmental data from the past and also in scenarios projected into the future.
- National Centers for Environmental Information (NOAA)
NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's treasure of climate and historical weather data and information.
- National Snow & Ice Data Center (University of Colorado, Boulder)
Find data, maps, research studies and other information supporting cryosphere research (sea ice, ice sheets, glaciers, permafrost).
- Data: Climate Change (World Bank)
Find data, maps, charts and other visualizations relating to climate systems, exposure to climate impacts, resilience, greenhouse gas emissions, and energy use.
- Datasets & Images: Goddard Institute for Space Studies
Find datasets, maps, graphs, charts and other visualizations derived from a wide range of Earth observations and global models of atmospheric, land surface, and oceanic processes, including atmospheric radiation; atmospheric chemistry; climate impacts; paleoclimate; and other disciplines. The Goddard Institute for Space Studies is a laboratory in the Earth Sciences Division of National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Goddard Space Flight Center.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention FastStatsThe Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) provides statistics on topics of public health importance in the United States, including obesity, smoking, births, and deaths. You can also find marriage and divorce statistics here.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research"ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."
- National Center for Education StatisticsA list of links to federal government and statistical agencies websites.
- NationMasterNationMaster is a database of international data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Note that this site features commercial advertisements.
- U.S. Census BureauAccess data from the U.S. Census, along with business and industry data. Be sure to check out the link to American FactFinder to access a user-friendly interface for finding and manipulating housing, economic, and geographic data.
- World Public Opinion.orgWorld Public Opinion.org (WPO) provides a source of in-depth information and analysis on public opinion from around the world on international issues. This site presents summary and in-depth articles about various polls taken around the world.
580-559-5376
1100 E. 14th St
Ada, OK 74820
Powered by Springshare. All rights reserved.