Please contact your librarian if you have difficulty accessing any part of this website. To report eResource issues, fill out the following form: https://ecok.libwizard.com/f/eResourceReport

Political Science Research Methods (PS 3163)

PS Research Methods

Focus

Databases

American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1995 (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The records of the ACLU on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics. Documents include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides high-quality full-text journal articles relating to nearly every field of scholarly study. This database specializes in historical content, with some articles dating back to the late 1800s. In most cases, the most recent one to five years are not available in full-text (Opens a new tab).
Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Using a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse, PSC covers areas of law and legislation, political theory, international relations, and humanitarian issues. Indexing dates back to 1911, with full-text coverage back to 1922.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 may be found in the American State Papers. In general, it includes: committee reports related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, certain executive department publications, and certain non-governmental publications.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to case law, statutes and other legal documents from the beginning of the U.S. to the present.

If you are experiencing issues, use the link below. Note: this only works when using a campus computer.

WestlawNext

Complete List of Politics, Law, and Society Databases
This link will take you to a full list of possible databases for your paper that you can use if you need additional resources.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format (Opens a new tab).
America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources (Opens a new tab).
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth themed reports on controversial social, political, and cultural topics. Each report thoroughly analyzes all of the important aspects of the given topic, and also provides relevant graphics and sources for further research. Full-text reports are available from 1991 to the present (Opens a new tab).
Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of controversial social, economic, and political topics. For each topic, the following full-text sources are provided: an overview, point and counterpoint essays, a guide to critical analysis, periodical articles and book chapters, radio and TV transcripts, primary source documents, and images. Although this database specializes in current research, it does contain some content from the early 1900s (Opens a new tab).