Skip to main content
Linscheid Library

Linscheid Library Blog

Student Spotlight: Mitchell Potts

by Marla Lobley on 2019-04-26T09:45:08-05:00 in English and Languages, History | Comments

Main take-away: There is an abundance of valuable information that is not available online. People interested in ECU, Ada or Oklahoma history can find a wealth of information in the library's Special Collections!

See Accessibility section below

 

If you would like your research or creative work featured in a blog post, email Marla at mlobley@ecok.edu (opens a new tab).

Accessibility

Student Spotlight: Mitchell Potts, English & History

Mitchell is completing an internship with the library's Special Collections. His internship goals are to handle, organize and store fragile documents and electronic records. He also wants to learn Special Collections' role within academic libraries. His tasks have included organizing and describing a wide variety  of physical items so they are easily found, such as letters, scrapbooks and ECU memorabilia. He is also improving online access to rare materials, such as a 1913 edition of the Pesagi which is currently available online at http://library.ecok.edu/record=b1048073~S0 (opens a new tab).

So far, he has learned how to skillfully remove rusty paperclips, staples. etc. from aging documents. He has also learned about common problems with old documents, such as hydrolysis (paper becoming brittle) and oxidation (paper turning yellow). He says, "Library work can sound meticulous but there’s a lot of life hidden throughout these shelves. It's really converted my time here into a more personal experience knowing I'm contributing to the living history of such a great place tucked away in small town America." He has enjoyed learning the history of ECU and Oklahoma, including letters about buildings on campus being built and rare documents about Oklahoma governors. 

The internship has left a positive impact on his academic career, as Mitchell says, "The Special Collections/archive here at Linscheid Library is a treasure trove that doesn’t get the attention it deserves. It is an invaluable resource to the campus and the community. I've barely explored all that's there and I've found so much."

Learn more or book an appointment to visit Special Collections at https://ecok.libguides.com/special_collections_department/main (opens a new tab).


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...